Duty Cycle Varies with Frequency of Write

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, I am new to PSoC programming, and I have encountered some confusing
behavior. I have a PSoC5 LP device, and I'm trying to develop a parallel
interface using a port on the device. I began testing my write speed by simply
writing two alternating values on the port: specifically, I wrote 0x40 and 0x01
to the correct register for P6. These values will alternate driving P6_6 high
and P6_0 high. That is, while P6_6 is high, P6_0 is low, and vice versa. If I do
this at a rather slow speed, I get a nice waveform that you'd expect from these
pins, What is strange is that whenever I try to optimize the bus speed and clock
speed to achieve an overall frequency somewhere above ~2MHz, I get a somewhat
deformed duty cycle on both pins. So where before I'd have about a 50% duty
cycle on both pins, now I have about a 33% duty cycle on one pin, and a 66% duty
cycle on the other. Here are some images of the waveforms at the slow and high
speeds, respectively:

0 Likes
6 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

Are you writing directly to port DR register ?

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=57571      AN72382     Page 10

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

In this case of tight programming the simple branch instruction at the end of the loop you programmed will consume some time wihch will be spent in the last-written pin state. This could be the cause of the asymetric duty-cycle.