Bootloader, Bootloadable: How-to for Creator 3.0

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am very new to PSOC but not to embedded systems.  I got one of the CY8CKIT-049-42xx boards and installed PSoC Creator 3.0.

I am confused about bootloader vs bootloadable projects and how to set up a new project.  

I think I want to make a bootloadable project and the somehow link it to a bootloader project, perhaps from the examples.

The getting started guides and similar documents skip over this issue although there is plenty of documentation on migrating from older versions.

Is there some simple basic documentation on this anywhere?

Thanks
Don

0 Likes
14 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

This might help -

http://www.cypress.com/?rID=69922 Video

http://www.cypress.com/search.cfm?q=bootloadable

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks, the video seems to have the info needed.  Its hard to go step by step through a video, I much prefer written documents, but it covers the key thinga that are missing from the docuements I had seen (including the datasheet the other link is to).

1) You have to have a "bootloader" project somewhere.  This is not the application project, its just a bootloader and a communications interface.  You can build one or in my case there is one in the examples for this board.

2) The project you create should be "bootloadable".  The video shows where the setting is to change an existing project to bootloadable, I hunted for that for quite a while without finding it in the GUI or a document.

3) You configure the bootloadable component in your project with the hex and elf files of the bootloader project you wish to use.

I can see that this is quite flexable and will let you create your own bootloader and communications channel etc.