Connecting 2 PSoCs via UART

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I have two PSoC 3 modules (along with the development kits) between which I want to establish communication using UART protocol as part of a larger project. I'm new to PSoC so I started off by going through the PDF here: http://www.cypress.com/?rID=48892

So far I've been successful in establishing bare basic communication i.e. sending a single byte from one PSoC chip, receiving it at the other and displaying it on the LCD, but my ultimate goal is to be able transmit/receive large blocks of data from both chips, so to start off, I'm trying to transmit and receive character strings but have thus far been unsuccessful. The problem is that I'm unable to synchronize the data transfer and just get a bunch of rapidly changing characters on my LCD. My questions are:

1) Is there any built-in library or function in PSoC which eases synchronization of blocks of data via UART?

2) If not, will I have to write my own protocol for synchronizing everything? If so then how do I go about doing that (links to tutorials or resources would be helpful).

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
8 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

You will need a protocoll.

Easiest solution:
Transfering (ASCII) strings. Each string is terminated by a non-printable character like LF or CR or even both. This will need a (interrupt driven) routine that fetches all incoming chars into a buffer.

More complex:

There are different fixed-format messages sent:

First byte is the format-specifier (a number)

Second byte(or word) is the message length

the message follows.

this message will need a buffer algorithm, too.

Look for (google) "Circular Buffer Algorithm"

Bob

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10

... or have a look at this thread www.psocdeveloper.com/forums/viewtopic.php

Bob

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583