Need help with DMA

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Greetings all,

This is my first post on the Cypress forums, and I could really use a bit of guidance. I've been a computer engineer for a couple of decades now, but this is the first time I'm using the Cypress chip. I'm sure there's a way to do what I need, I just don't know enough about the PSoC5 to do it. So here goes...

I have a chunk of memory (SRAM) that represents an array of 4-byte (32-bit) values. These values need to be transferred to my UDB via DMA so as to not encumber the CPU. The thing is though that only the lower 24 bits of each array entry contains data. Sending the 4th byte of each 32-bit array value will ruin the stream.

I've gotten the first DMA to transfer the data all at once, in either 3-byte burst or 4-byte burst, but it sends all 32-bits. I've tried sending the 4-byte data to an intermediate buffer, and then use a second DMA with the data length and burst size set to 3 to to eliminate the 4th byte, but it's not doing what I want. I've also tried putting the two DMAs in reverse order, just in case. And also a small variety or other arrangements. >sigh< No joy.

So, does anyone have a lot of experience with the DMAs that can help me?

0 Likes
10 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Keith 

A couple  of questions:

How big is array?

How wide is udb?

Are sizes static?

Is array a static address?

Have you tried simple chained list of 3 byte transfers to an 8 bit destination?

Can you use a 32bit wide chained udb?

-ed

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for responding. I'll provide what information I can, but there are some potentially patentable methods involved that I would need to steer clear of.

How big is array?

The array, there are actually several, can vary from 30 bytes to several hundred.

How wide is udb?