Tips on speeding up a sluggish development environment

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm just starting out tinkering with my first PSoC project and playing with (what I'm hoping to be) the easy version of programmable logic.

Anyway, comping from a software development background I'm used to rapid edit-compile-debug cycles and tend to get frustrated when running a basic test takes more than ten seconds. Unfortunately in PSoC Creator my simple of introductory tests using a small fraction of the available resources takes several minutes to build, and the graphical designer frequently freezes up for three second stretches.

Basically I'm not certain whether this is normal or whether it is an issue with my particular installation, and I'm a little concerned about how things will scale once my design starts to grow.

Are there any options available which I ought to fiddle with? Perhaps enabling parallel/progressive builds, tweaking cache sizes/garbage collection rate or reducing the number of optimization passes for my small and slowly-clocked debug build?

Alternatively is it time to bite-the-bullet and get used to a new type of workflow and/or get myself a more up-to-date computer?

6 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

Getting hands on a faster computer is always a good choice  😉

The freezing of the IDE has been reported by some users that had their project-files residing on a network-connection. I would suggest to avoid that.