Capability of PSOC 5

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, 

I am very new to PSOC. I have been reading about it. Can anyone help me with the following questions. Thanks in advance.

1. Am I right to assume PSOC 5 have the same or better capability than the rest of PSOC 1,3 and 4 in terms of analogue and digital capability?

2. Can I input bipolar analogue signal directly into PSOC 5, without external component for level shifting?

3. Can I directly implement analogue low pass, high pass and bandpass filters with PSOC 5?

4. I have found application note stating how to implement analogue multiplier with PSOC 1. Can I do the same with PSOC 5?

5. With the latest PSOC 5 LP, which can go up to 80MHz, would I be able to gain speed improvement for SPI?

6. Can I use PSOC 5 LP without external clock?

Thanks.

0 Likes
4 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

Answers

1.  PSoC3 and 5 are equal except that PSoC 5 has got a modern ARM M3 core and PSoC3 an 8051

2. No, GND <= Vin <= Vcc

3. There are some opamps you may support externally to have a filter

4.There is a multiplying mixer component

5. I cannot tell.

6. External clock is only needed when you want to have a precise timing.

To get more information and to get acquired to PSoCs I would suggest you to download and install the Creator from the Cypress website. Thie IDE has got a component catalog with detailled datasheets for each of them. There are many example projects, too.

Depending on your finacial status there are some different development kits starting from $4 with a PSoC4 to $250 for PSoC 1,3,4,and 5 including a MiniProg3 as a Programmer and a debugger for PSoC3, 4 and 5 chips.

Happy coding

Bob

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given