PSOC5LP Dev Kit Data Acquisition 500Ksps

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey PSOC Forums!

I am wanting to know if it's feasable for a PSOC5lp dev kit to be used in a situation where data is sampled at 500 Ksps and transfered to a PC without dropping any samples. Over a span of lets say 30 minutes. USB UART is ruled out because the sample rate is to high, but I was thinking i could instead try and use USB Bulk Transfers protocol to send the data over. I am very new to USB and don't have very much time to learn right now,  so I don't know if this is realistic or not..

If it is feasabile, Any sugestions torwards an implementation? I was thinking about starting with one of the example projects that uses DMA to move data from the ADC to the USB TX Buffer, any sugestios on what I should do on the receiving end? 

Thanks!

0 Likes
5 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

A PC has usually got an operating system that will serve several different processes quasi-parallel (look into your task manager)

This will hinder a contineous data stream accepted from the PC side. When the data width and thus the precision is 8 bits you will get a transfer-rate of 0,5 MB/s which is well within the transfer-rate of USB 2.0. With techniques as double buffering and DMA on the PSoC side you might be able to reach your wanted performance.

Bob

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

The USBUART is Full Speed, 12 Mb/s, so possibly could handle 12 bits

at a 1 MB/s rate.

USB UART is ruled out because the sample rate is to high,

Build a protocol to handle that problem......?

Do you need this to be sychronous over the local net ?

Regards, Dana.

Related Application Notes and Example Projects

USB Peripheral Basics - AN57294
PSoC® 3 / PSoC 5 USB HID Fundamentals - AN57473