Using Miniprog3 with PSoC 5LP

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

I've never used miniprog3 before and can't seem to figure out how to set it up. I've looked at the setups guides and datasheets but I keep getting the "PSoC device is not acquired! " error reguardless if I choose JTAG or SWD in PSoC Programmer. The board I'm using is PSoC 5LP CY8C5868AXI-LP035. I'm also not too sure where to plug the miniprog in on the board as there are 2 headers that fit the ribbon cable. Both PSoC Creator and PSoC programmer are updated and the drivers for miniprog3 seems to be installed correctly. Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere? I've also tried messing with the programmer/debugger settings under system in .cydwr

0 Likes
23 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

From the CY8CKIT-050 manual -

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9

From the minprog3 quick start guide -

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&ved=0CDEQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cy...

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Do not connect the power supply to the Kit-050, set MiniProg3 to SWD 10 pins,  5V power. This usually works.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable
        At least you need 5V power rail available to enable usb/swd&jtag. Look at some configuration switch to enable the 5V on board regulator from an external power supply. This external power supply need to be high enough (perhaps 8V) for the internal regulator circuits to work properly. Another solution is to power your board from USB as said by Bob Marlowe but it comes with some drawbacks. Personnally I prefer powering the board from a laboraty power supply, IMO it is less risky.   
0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10