PSoC 4 Reads UART fine for couple minutes then stops completely until restart

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
ErOs_662341
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All!

This is my first time posting so I'm not sure if my file project upload is correct. I'm also new to using PSoC's in general.

I'm designing paddle shifting in an automotive system with two PSoC 4's for and I'm having trouble with the communciation between the two. I have two boards, one that uses the PSoC 4 prototyping kit (www.cypress.com/) that we will call the "Main Board" and one that uses a PSoC 4200 on a custom PCB that we will call the "Shifting Board". The Main Board takes 3 digital inputs from the steering wheel (up shift, down shift, and clutch) and puts that data into a mesage that gets sent out UART. The Shifting Board reads UART and when it sees that it contains a message to shift, it performs a series of digital writes to actually complete the shift.

What I'm observing:

First of all only one of the solenoids are firing but I will get to that later. Anways, it will work fine anywhere from 10-50 shifts (slowly getting less responisve) and then stop working completely until the Main Board gets restarted. Restarting the Shifting Board does nothing.

My theory:

Since the message I'm sending is larger than the hardware buffer size (4 bytes?) I might be continuously buffer overflowing. However, I would imagine restarting the Shifting Board would get it start working again (temporarily). So maybe it's only a problem on the tx buffer of the Main Board?

Any suggestiions would be greatly appreciated! I attached both projects in Project.zip since it wouldn't let me upload two files.

Also: My tx is inverted because I'm switching 12V serial with an N-FET so don't mind that.

0 Likes
7 Replies
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

In the shifting project ISR should be set to rising edge -