PSoC 5LP functions? USB host & CAN receiver implemented via Analog Blocks

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, I'm new to PSoC but not to embedded controllers and making things talk to each other and then tell me or do for me what I want. A project I am investigating has the below functional high level design. The intent is to embed low cost development boards in the product to establish and determine demand. My expectation is in the low hundreds, so a PCB design may or may not happen.

The parts I'm researching are specifically the mass storage and the CAN and K-Line implementation. 

Mass storage:
The CY8CKIT-059 has a micro USB connector on the target: can this be a "Host" to a USB thumb drive via "host adapter cable"? I've been reading the forums and this thread suggests no existing easy solution. Or am I missing something and using this port as USB host is physically/electrically impossible? I did also find "emUSB-Host - USB host stack" software on Segger but do not understand how that would apply to the CY8KIT-059 board.

Alternatively, I have used SD cards before with arduino, etc, but I'm wanting to use the CY8CKIT-059 as is with minimal additional components. If anyone knows of an embedded dev board with SD card in similar price range, I'm interested, however my top choice would be able to host thumb drives.

CAN Transceiver:
Every CAN example I have found immediately assumes the implementation adds a transceiver IC external to the PSoC. Actually, of all the research I've done, only the $19 NXP has the CAN controller with transceiver included in their Cortex M0 implementation. I know in previous research, I saw implementations of CAN transceivers using discrete components, but the best I could find now is this gentleman's circuit using an OPAMP.