EZ-USB FX3 SDK Video Class Example - Frame Rate?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to the world of video, and especially video-over-USB.

I have the EZ-USB FX3 SuperSpeed Explorer Kit. Everything is installed. I can compile new code and program the FX3 OK.

I am running the "USB Video Class example" from the SDK. This is the example that streams 4 frames of MJPEG over USB that shows the Cypress cup rotating.

I am using VLC as my video sink.

The problem I have is in understanding what I see. Why does the cup rotate so fast?? I thought that the programmed frame rate was set to 15 fps, but it appears much faster.

If I change the USB descriptors and the UVC probe control to 1 fps, VLC shows it at the same speed as when set to 15 fps.

0 Likes
3 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

Most Host Applications like VLC set the frame rate as per the reception of data. The descriptors are only for the user to know whar are all the frame rates present.

In that particular 'Cup Video firmware', the firmware may send the video at a much faster rate actually. Only in an application where a camera is acually present we can put a frame rate equal to the camera's frame rate. As this is just a demo case, we can put whatever we want. But VLC Plays at a rate at which it receives data.

Regards,

- Madhu Sudhan

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Madhu,

Many thanks for your reply and explanation.