SPIM_WriteTxData() Usage

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello, I am new to embedded code and PSoC Creator as well. I am embarrassed to ask such a basic question but I must as I am just not sure how to proceed. I am using the SPIM component from the library and I want to communicate over the SPI to a MPL115A Barometer.

The format of the write is address then data, such as (0x20, 0x00). Now the description for the SPIM write function is as follows:

SPIM_WriteTxData() Places a byte/word in the transmit buffer which will be sent at the next available bus time. So how do I perform an address then data write, would it be 2 writes such as, void SPIM_WriteTxData (uint8, 0x20) then void SPIM_WriteTxData (uint8, 0x00)? this seems like the long way to do something. I have some sample code for the adruino that shows: write (0x20, 0x00).

So I am sorta confused. Any suggestions/help would be appreciated. I hope my question made sense. Also one more question, do I have to declare a function prototype for each SPIM function I use?

Thanks

0 Likes
1 Solution
cadi_1014291
Level 6
Level 6
25 likes received 10 likes received 10 likes given

xxx_WriteTxData have only 1 parameter (which can be uint8_t or uint16_t), that is the data value to transmit from the SPI, so you might use like this:

SPIM_WriteTxData (0x20);

SPIM_WriteTxData (0x00);

or you can put your data on a array and use xxx_PutArray(const uint8_t buffer[], uint8_t byteCount) function

parameter buffer[] is the name of your array, byteCount is the number of data to move to the transmit buffer

so you can do:

uint8_t data[2] = {0x20, 0x00};

xxx_PutArray(data, sizeof(data)); /* This function will place 0x20 and 0x00 on your trasmit buffer */