How to test SPI(SCB) test without LCD?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I am a newbie, working on PSoC 4 to communicate a sensor via SPI.

After reading and trying a lot of documents and example, I still cannot make one SPI example work. Without LCD, how could I test an SPI example?

To read register of my sensor, I need to select and deselect; write one byte address to MOSI, get one dumb byte from MISO, and the write one byte 0x00 to MOSI, the get my data back.

I set a GPIO as chip select pin, and connect MOSI to 3[1], MISO to 3[0], SCK to 0[6]; and wrote the corresponding firmware, however cannot get nothing.

Could anyone help me and have a look?

Thank you very much!

0 Likes
9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

I got it working!

Added a delay between write to MOSI and read MISO.

SPI_Master_SpiUartWriteTxData((uint32)fixedAddress);
  CyDelayUs(75);
  uint32 readBuffer = SPI_Master_SpiUartReadRxData();

However, I don't know the smallest delay time. In Arduino, I could read MISO as long as the SPIF changes; could I write a "while" sentence that could help me do it? How should I write it?

Thank you!

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

You normally do not need a delay-function when reading from spi.

Imagine how SPI works: For every byte you send you receive a byte at the same time.

Writing a byte means: putting the byte into the transmit buffer, then return to caller.

The sending of the byte(s) will take some time, so the receiving seems to be delayed.