SRAM size

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
sccac_1236541
Level 4
Level 4

Hi all,

I'm new to this part of things so bare with me. 

I'm setting up a project, where I will need to monitor at least 3 ADC streams, all coming in via SPI, where I will be doing FFT's on them.  Now the size array I need to be doing FFTs on will be 40kBytes, so I can see a 1Hz wave (I'm sampling at 10Khz and have 32 bit depth).

Now this means I will have 120kByes of data at a minimum.  way more than the PSoC 5LP has available in SRAM.

What I'm wondering is how should I go about planning to do this?  I have never used external ram before but it sounds like this might be my best option.  if so, is there a way that I would do the FFT on the data while its actually on the RAM without moving it back onto the SRAM?  or would I move it back onto the SRAM before doing the computations?

I figure a possibility would be extending my memory location addresses, but I have no idea how to even conceptually think of that.  

Any help would be great, this is a new concept to me and I HAVE to figure it out very soon or I will be forced to switch to a chip other than PSoC.. which I really do not want to do since I love PSoC.

Thanks,

scarlson

0 Likes
1 Solution
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Have a look at the External Memory Interface (EMIF) component for PSoC3 and 5. When that is usable for you... Needs a lot of pins.

Bob

View solution in original post

0 Likes
3 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Have a look at the External Memory Interface (EMIF) component for PSoC3 and 5. When that is usable for you... Needs a lot of pins.

Bob

0 Likes
sccac_1236541
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Bob, 

Thanks for the quick reply.  If you don't mind I have another question.