how to process an image (using verilog) in PSoC 4?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Im using PSoC 4 pioneer kit (4200 family). Im new to verilog programing. Can I process an image file in this board? Can someone guide me? 

Thanks!!

0 Likes
12 Replies
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

Depends. How large is the image file, what do you want to process? Where does the image come from, where should it go?

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm learning about it. How large it can support? I want to perform normal histogram equalization in it. I've that image in my computer. How can I dump my image in it?

Thanks!

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

What verilog works on are the "UDBs", the CY8C42xx has got 4 of those, each 8 bits wide consisting of an ALU, some PLD area, 2 FIFOs, a 7bit counter and some registers. No memory or a path to access memory! Might be a bit difficult to process images. Even when using a PSoC5 which has got 24 of those UDBs.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for replying. Is there any procedure or default program to dump my image in board? 

Thanks!

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10

PSoCs are embedded processors with additional analog and digital hardware. There is not much memory on a PSoC to store an image. This seems to be more or less a job for a RaspBerry.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi bob, Again thanks for replying. How much memory does PSoC support? I've a 4kb image. Is it not possible to process this image too huh? Can you give me some idea for this. please. I've PSoC 4 board and Altera board. 

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, I checked its datasheet. In that it is mentioned that it has 128KB flash and 16KB SRAM. Is there any way that i can use it for storing my 4 KB image?

0 Likes