How to store application program to EEPROM?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

I'm just getting started working with the WICED SMART dev kit.  I was successfully able to download the hello sensor application to the WICED board and see the application running.  However, once I removed power the application erased from memory. 

How can I program the WICED SMART so that the program remains on EEPROM memory even though the board is turned off?

Also, if I press the reset button while the board is already programmed and running, the program is erased from memory also.  How can I configure my program so that the reset button just restarts the program (not delete the program from memory)?

Thanks.

1 Solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

I was able to resolve the problem. 

Here's what I did:

1/  First I put all the switches in SW4 to ON, and flashed the program to the WICED Smart as explained in the Quick Start Guide.

2/  After the program is flashed and running on the WICED, I then switched all the switches in SW4 to OFF

3/  After removing power the program was still stored on the WICED

I was confused because the Quickstart guide made it seem like flipping the switches in SW4 to OFF was optional.  In actuality, it is required if you want the program to remain after removing power.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
9 Replies
MichaelF_56
250 sign-ins 25 comments on blog 10 comments on blog

Others have reported this with custom boards using the 20732S, but never with the TAG board.

Assuming that SW4 is set so that all 8 switches are on, once programmed through the SDK, the program is stored in the EEPROM (NVRAM) on the TAG3 Board.

It should not dissapear when the power is removed. After the board is programmed, the board stays in application mode.  it wll not go back into programming mode till the RESET button is depressed.

Anonymous
Not applicable