Use BCM920737TAG as host device

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi guys.

I am a novice to bluetooth technology and BLE even more. I have two evaluation boards from BRODCOM: BCM920732TAG and BCM920737TAG. I need to evaluate the connection time of the master with slave and current consumption.

Tell me, can I use BCM920732TAG board as slave device and BCM920737TAG board as master (host) device, establish a connection between them? I assumed and used WICED-Smart-SDK-1.1.0 and the example hello_sensor for BCM920732TAG board and WICED-Smart-SDK-2.0.1 and hello_client for BCM920737TAG board. However, how to verify that two boards are connected and the client sends data to the master I do not know.

How right thing to do in my case? How to make sure that the device was paired?

Is there a ready example in SDK-2.0.1 of working BCM920737TAG board in master (host) mode?

Thanks

Best regards, Andrei

0 Likes
1 Solution

> Is there a ready example in SDK-2.0.1 of working BCM920737TAG board in master (host) mode?

hello_client is that sample.

> can I use BCM920732TAG board as slave device and BCM920737TAG board as master (host) device, establish a connection between them?

Yes. Use hello_sensor sample app on 20732 and hello_client sample app on 20737. You might want to set some known BD_ADDR and enable traces on both devices. Use a console app like teratarm/hyperterm/putty to log the traces from both devices. When they connect each other, they will both print the BD_ADDR of the peer device and that is how you know for sure that these two devices connected.

View solution in original post

3 Replies
MichaelF_56
250 sign-ins 25 comments on blog 10 comments on blog

The Hello_Client Example in SDK 2.0 leverages the TAG3's onboard 20737 acting as a master communicating with the Hello_Sensor application.  This is a great starting point for a Master/Slave scenario.