How do I use the HSIOM to set pins to SCB SPI mode?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I am very new to using a PSoC or any cypress product for that matter.

Here's the datasheet for the device I'm using: http://www.cypress.com/file/137466/download (Page 15 is where the pertinent pins are listed)

The pins I want to use are: P4_0, P4_1, P5_0, P5_1. They are all dedicated to the SCB1_SPI peripheral. The "mode" they correspond to is Deep-Sleep #1 (value = 15).

My question is this: How do I use this information to actually connect the pins to perform their SPI functions? I have been unable to find a single well-explained resource that can tell me how to use the HSIOM register to manipulate the ports, their pins, and perform a peripheral selection.

Like I know I should be starting with CYREG_HSIOM_PORT_SEL4, but what do I set it equal to? How do I select a pin and a "mode"?

Thanks.

EDIT: I came across the CY_SET_XTND_REG32 function which'll let me set the CYREG_HSIOM_PORT_SELx registers. But I don't know what value I set the register to.

EDIT 2: Okay. Is this how it's done?    

/*For pin P4_0: x = 4, y = 0. Configure bits 3:0 to value 15 for deep sleep mode 3 */
    /*Bits 3:0 are selected because 4y+3:4y*/
    CY_SET_XTND_REG32(CYREG_HSIOM_PORT_SEL4, (0x0000000F|0x0000000F));

0 Likes
1 Solution
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

That is quite easy: Open in workspace explorer your .cydwr file. Here you can connect the IO-pins to the real world 😉

Furthermore you will find a lot of places for setting up the clock system or setting some system resources by clicking the right tabs.

Bob

View solution in original post

0 Likes
10 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10

That is quite easy: Open in workspace explorer your .cydwr file. Here you can connect the IO-pins to the real world 😉