Help needed for newbie interfacing CY14B256PA nvram and rtc

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to SPI interfacing and I have just got a PIC talking to a CY14B256PA so that I can read the device ID just fine.

My next challenge is to talk to the RTC. At this stage I simply want to read the data that is in the RTC in the device (it hasn't been programmed yet but I'm trying to do the simple stuff first).

The data sheet says that I need to set the Read bit in the flags register before I can read the data, and also that I do not have to set the Write bit to set the read bit. I am not certain what the sequence is to achieve this.

Do I need to enable CS, Write to register 00 first using WRTC to set the Read bit, then clear CS, then set CS, perform the RDRTC to read the data, clear CS, then perform another WRTC cycle to clear the read bit, or do I do the whole lot in one CS cycle?

Any help you can give would be most appreciated.

0 Likes
1 Solution
MeduH_46
Employee
Employee
5 sign-ins 10 replies posted 5 replies posted

That's correct, you got it. I missed the WREN while giving the Read sequence as well. Here is the updated  

1. Enable Chip select (CS = 0)

2. Set WREN

3. Disable Chip select (CS = 1)

4. Enable Chip select (CS = 0)

5. Set Read bit in flags register using WRTC.  Sequence will be 0x12, 0x00, 0x01

6. Disable Chip select (CS = 1)

7. Enable Chip select (CS = 0)

8. Read RTC registers using RDRTC. For example, to read seconds register, sequence will be 0x13, 0x09, Seconds_Data

9. Disable Chip select (CS = 1)

10. Enable Chip select (CS = 0)

11. Set WREN

12. Disable Chip select (CS = 1)

13. Enable Chip select (CS = 0)

14. Clear Read bit in flags register using WRTC.  Sequence will be 0x12, 0x00, 0x00

15. Disable Chip select (CS = 1)

View solution in original post

0 Likes
3 Replies
MeduH_46
Employee
Employee

Hi,