Calculate SW_Tx_UART BaudRate error

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am very new to Microcontroller and especially Cypress programming and have therefore been looking at the code examples. I am currently trying to understand the function of the SW_Tx_UART Component.

First of all I would like to know, how it is possible to change the clock the component is using? And how do  I know which it is currently using?

For documentation sake I would now like to calculate the expected baud rate error. The following formula is given in the SW_Tx_UART- Datasheet:

Divider = (int) (CPU_CLK+(BaudRate/2))/BaudRate
%err = (BaudRate - CPU_CLK/ Divider)*100% + CPU_CLK_Accuracy

But which values do I need to enter here? Is the CPU-CLK the same as the SYSCLK? I also don't know in which units the values have to be given since I don't seem to be able to fully understand the relationship between clock frequency and baud rate.

For example if the used clock is runnig at 48000000Hz (48MHz) and a I set a Baudrate of 115200 Bd that would give me a divider of 417.166 (ignoring the units). The result seems a bit high I think...

Any help in understanding the relations of clock and baudrate is much appreciated.

Thanks

0 Likes
6 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the forum, nameless 😉

The component you are referring to is a pure software solution, it does not use any clock but the execution clock for the CPU. So there is no way to change the clock frequency.

When you tell us a bit more what you would like to perform (except from understanding how it works) we could probably help you.

Let us know which Cypress Kit exactly you use.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable