SigData using VREF as input.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am new to PSOC and am trying to become familiar with the CY8CKIT-059 PSoC 5LP Prototyping Kit.  I would like to use it as a low cost, fairy accurate multi channel data acquisition system.  I would like to use  the internal 1.024 VREF as one of the input signals and use the resulting value to judge the accuracy of the remaining channels.  Unfortunately,  I don't get the expected results.    I would like to use the 20 bit Sigma Delta A2D with a single input range of 0.0 to 6 *Vref.  When I connect the Vref through an analog mux I get values of approximately 1.78 volts.  When I buffer the input through an op amp follower I get results of 2.33 volts.  I am obviously missing something basic. 

Can someone give me a hint??

0 Likes
1 Solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

I couldn't get a good value for either the buffered or unbuffered VREF.  The message that there was no direct signal path from VREF to the MUX probably means that the input was floating.  That explains why that value is bad.  

The reason the buffered value was floating and yielding bad results is I DID NOT START THE OP AMP in main.c   MY BAD!!!!!! 

Documentation indicates that the bypass of PO.3 is needed for high frequency.  I did put the bypass in (after I started the op amp) and there is a difference n values obtained from the SIGDEL.

Now I have to address the accuracy

I set the input to mux and corresponding pins to different sources and used my DMM to measure the voltage on the pins as the program was sending data.

Source                                   DMM            Sig Del      Ratio
DVDAC set for 1000mv      0.9975            1.0234       1.025
Voltage Regulator                 3.3553            3.4535       1.029
Buffered Vref                       1.0233            1.0496       1.026