Setting variable from method called by ISR

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm still learning the in's and out's of C programing so this maybe a very obvious question. I have a Timer that calls an ISR. In my ISR I have this code: 

clockCounter++;

if (clockCounter == 1600) {
        Increment_Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer();
        Increment_Quadrant_Reset_Timer();
        Increment_Power_Off_Timer();
        clockCounter = 0;
    }

So that every second it calls those three methods to increment some other timer counters. My though process is that this is the cleanest way to handle keeping track of the timers in the appropriate other classes. 

Here is what my Increment_Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer() function looks like: 

void Increment_Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer()
{    
    if (!quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED) { 
        return; 
    }

quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_counter++;
    if (quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_counter >= (QUADRANT_LED_OFF_TIMER_DURATION / DEBUG_DIVIDER)) {
        Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer_Did_Expire();
    }
}

Where quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED variable and Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer_Did_Expire() are defined in a class call app_Timers. So this works fine the first time that quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED is set to 1 from my main.c.

Here is what my Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer_Did_Expire() method looks like: 

void Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer_Did_Expire()
{
    UART_UartPutString("Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer_Did_Expire \n\r ");

quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED = 0;
    quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_counter = 0;
}

So you can see that I set my quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED to 0 here.

If I debug and check quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED after it has been set it's correct at 0.  However, continuing in debug if I check quadrant_LED_OFF_timer_ENABLED in this function Increment_Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer() it's set back to 1. 

So just to clarify: 

void Increment_Quadrant_LED_OFF_Timer()