How to enable the external crystal oscillator in PSOC5.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello, All! I am new in PSoC world. Currently I am working on a project that require accurate frequency measurement. Since PSOC5 internal clock doesn’t accurate, using external crystal oscillator will provide  more accurate measurement.

I have an external crystal with part number ECS-240-20-33-CKM-TR, which is 24 Mhz crystal and 20 pF load capacitance. I already soldered this crystal on the PCB board next to PSOC chip at Pin 15[0] and Pin 15[1](I have attached schematic). I choose two 22 pF capacitors as load.

I followed procedure (AN54439_External crystal oscillators) and tried to enable this external crystal oscillator in PSOC creator, but it never work.  (See attached setup).

I don’t know why that it doesn’t work. Thank you for any help, I will really appreciate.  

0 Likes
11 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted
        jacob,, Please take a look on XTAL settings here http://www.cypress.com/comment/406171#comment-406171 Note that IMO is hoocked to XTAL and XTAL setting are different. The 22pf caps might be an issue, notice 12pf value on the picture. I used 14pf caps (20pf didn't work). Lastly, all XTAL wiring must be as short as possible.   
0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the reply!
I know what you mean about using the lower caps. However, since my crystal has load caps spec as 20 pf, that's why I used 22 pf as load caps. (It is based on cypress website 
http://www.cypress.com/knowledge-base-article/mhz-external-crystal-oscillator-eco-cy8ckit-050-and-cy...
I will try it by using lower caps to see if is work. 

Thanks again.

0 Likes
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored