Developing on Eclipse?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I'm both new here and in programming, so please bear with my clueless questions. To be short:

Is there any way to utilitize cypress' PDL on Eclipse, instead of referred Keil and IAR in manual?

=================================

I am not living on MCU programming, so when I tried to complete some projects, I really appreciate your free IDEs, i.e. Designer and Creator. Lots of APIs and examples, they did make my projects completed easily without manipulating too much registries nor paying any additional cent in order to make the most out of these PSoC-s.

Now I'm considering putting these little chips into my designs (I'm a mechanical engineer) with more computing power than Cortex M3, e.g. PSoC 6 or FM4, without devoting to much capital into commercial IDE-s in early stage.

However, after a short time of surfing, I have an impression that many of non-cypress Cortex MCUs can make use of Eclipse with their own library, for example STM's SPL, but cypress' documents ( example: "FM4 Peripheral Driver Library User Guide" http://www.cypress.com/file/230756/download ) suggest only Keil and IAR. Considering they both are priced over 4000 dollars (!!), it is not practical to initiate a new product design with so much money have to be invested, for a non-electric-related-small-business. Trial period? No..7 or 30 days are not going to be enough.

So..are cortex M4(F)s ( including PSoC 6 and FM4 or above ) going to be supported in future Creator? Or is there any plan to make Eclipse an available IDE for them? Or I am just have to dig more into "how to use PDL" or something alike? I have to decide which chip I should going after..for a MCU newbie.

Any hints or thoughts will be appreciated.

PS. an off-topic small question: are PSoC1-s going to be deprecated? I don't see much model vitality comparing to cortex series PSoC-s.