FX3 mass storage class demo gpif problem

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
ErOz_4712216
Level 2
Level 2
First solution authored 10 replies posted 10 sign-ins

Hello,

I am new to FX3 chip.

I am using cyfxmscdemo that comes within the FX3 SDK. My goal is to connect the FX3(master) to FPGA(slave) using gpif port.

In the demo, there is a dma channel between uib-socket and cpu socket and the on-chip ram space is allocated for read/write purposes.

I want to transfer the data to gpif port. The question is,

1) Can I create another dma channel between another cpu socket and gpif socket to transfer the data?

(As far as I see in the manual, there is only cpu socket(?) and it is already in use by this demo)

2) Should I read/write to gpif using register access by CyU3pGpifWriteDataWords()-CyU3pGpifReadDataWords() functions?. But this must be slower than dma access.

Thanks in advance,

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.

Hello,

To connect FX3 as a master to FPGA as a slave and still use the mass storage functionality, you would need to integrate the state machine provided with the AN87216 to the cyfxmscdemo example firmware and port the related functionality from the cyfxbulklpauto.c file of the AN87216 firmware so that the cyfxmscdemo and state machine are in sync.

In the cyfxmscdemo.c file, you would need to change the MANUAL_IN and MANUAL_OUT channels between UIB and CPU to either AUTO or MANUAL channels and between UIB and PIB such that the GPIF interface can be utilized to transfer data to the FPGA, while the FX3 still handles the mass storage functionality related stuff.

You can take the channel creation in the cyfxbulklpauto.c as a reference and change the channel creation in cyfxmscdemo.c file (as shown in the attached image).

2.) If you use CyU3pGpifWriteDataWords()-CyU3pGpifReadDataWords(), it is not possible to achieve USB 3.0 performance.