Analog Electret Mic ADC, Manipulate, DAC, out.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
VRDE_4728046
Level 1
Level 1

Hi!

I hope i am in the correct subforum and i apologize if i did something wrong.

So i have a little project, it involves the PSoc 6 and a few electret mics and speakers.

I want to connect analog electret microphones, amplify them via the psoc, convert them into a digital signal i can route to my raspberry pi, make an equalizer there, then go back from the Pi into the psoc, amplify the signal and go out to speakers.

As you probably have guessed i am very new to the whole electronics thing. I hope i can get some help here.

Thank you very much in advance.

0 Likes
6 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

vrde,

You should consider system architecture first. Technically, all can be done inside the PSoC6 w/o using Pi, which will simplify project. On the other side, the DAC output capabilities of PSoC6 are limited, you will get better quality from the Pi sound board directly. I would start with one microphone. I believe that Cypress has PSoC6 example project with digital MEMS microphone.

/odissey1

Thank you very much for your answer!

Attached is an idea of the system architecture. i probably forgot a few things but maybe this goes in the right direction. any help would be highly appreciated.

thank you very much in advance

IMG_BBC6CE28812D-1.jpeg

0 Likes

VRDE,

On your sketchup there are 3 24-bit ADCs, but

PSoC62 has only one 12-bit ADC.

It also shows three DACs (bit resolution is not shown, but sound devices usually use 24-bit DACs). Unfortunately, PSoC62 has only one 12-bit DAC.

So, as shown, PSoC resources seem to be inadequate.

PSOC62 has PDM and I2S interfaces to connect digital microphone to external computer through USB. I would check it first.

/odissey1

0 Likes