Let's make the dice of seven eyes with PSoC 6 (M4), the protagonist of the game

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Kenshow
Level 8
Level 8
Distributor - Marubun (Japan)
50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored 10 solutions authored

Hello everyone,

When I was tiding up in my parents' house, I found a logic circuit designed I made 40 years ago. At that time, when video games started to become popular, I was a student and used Logics and tried LED games. Electronic dice can be built with circuits for logic beginners. Since the power supply is 6V and the frequency is low, an astable multivibrator was implemented with CMOS to make a clock, and LS92 is used as a modulo 6 counter and the decoding with LS00 were used to represent the LEDs on the dice. When turned on with the push switch, the dice start. By releasing the switch and turning it off, the designed was made with logic that stop after keeping slows operation for 1.5 seconds.

I introduce how to make this dice game .Oh, this is chance you can definitely enjoy to play this dice game with your kids. There are various ways to play, such as who get the 6's faster, wins if you get big ones, and plays with Sugoroku. Who said Nintendo is better?

Anyway, to express this in PSoC, I thought that it would be possible to easily control by using HW as it is and performing it with software. Actually, the circuit of modulo 6 counter and decoding has been slightly changed from the design at that time. The Timer component is used for the clock input of modulo 6 counter, and the start, the stop and the speed of the counter are adjusted by S/W.

This example is used PSoC 6 BLE Pioneer Kit CY8CKIT-062-BLE with PSoC Creator. I used PSoC 6 this time, but I think that PSoC 4 can also be used. If I get PSoC 4 kit, I will check it and upload it.

The block diagram of H/W is as follows.

1.png