emWin Bus Fault

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
EdHa_4455331
Level 5
Level 5
25 replies posted 25 sign-ins 10 replies posted

I am trying to use an ST7789 interface with emWin and  FreeRTOS on a Cypress POC 6 system. This is my first project using emWin.

My code is crashing out with a bus fault error. After initializing the GUI system, I did a simple GUI_DrawLine( 0,0, 1,1). The code gets to the step shown in the attached FatalStep.png. When I do a "step into" on that step, the code encounters a bus fault - see BusFault.png.

To the best of my knowledge my code goes through the initialization sequence call for in your documentation. So at the moment I have no idea why this code is crashing out. I could probably run down the problem myself if I had the source code, but I don’t, so sthis is causing me some schedule/deadline headaches.

I have already asked about this on the emWin forum, but no one has yet proposed a solutions. So I’m getting a tad desperate.

Can you provide any suggestions to fix this?

Thanks,

Ed H.

0 Likes
1 Solution

I am happy to report that I made it work. Although the comments in various files in emWin v5.46 say that it only supports up to PSOC 5, I have an LCD display working with a PSOC 6 and a ST7789V graphics expander connected via an SPI interface.

But you do have to push several planets into alignment to make it happen. 🙂

View solution in original post

0 Likes
31 Replies
DheerajK_81
First comment on KBA First comment on blog 5 questions asked

Hello,

Please find the code example here which basically interfaces with CY8CKIT-028-TFT Shield which has a display with the same ST7789 driver. So, the driver files will remain the same, you can make use of this in your project.