Read Values from BLE Device

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MuNa_4652896
Level 4
Level 4
First like received First like given

Hello Cypress Community.

I am new to using PSoC 6 so please bear with me. I have been learning the PSoC 6 and I want to achieve a specific role.

The PSoC is running a GATT Server / GAP Peripheral, while there is an App running on Android as GATT Client / GAP Central.

The Client tries to connect to the PSoC, after connecting, it reads a Service called "STATUS" which is updated according the activities of the PSoC amd can be read only by the client. If the STATUS Characteristic is set to "StandBy", the client is able to enter different values in the application and  Click on a button to send these values.

These values are configuration parameters (3 numeric values). which are required for the task that the PSoC does. According to the videos (which I learnt from), all the values that are controlled from the client are in the specified in the GATT Database as Services with available Characteristics and their values are updates (LED, Capsense). Now the question is, I want to receive these parameters, from the client app and parse them to do the required task. How do I receive values from the client after they click on the button on the app? Any available Code Snippets or Examples will be helpful.

Thank you

0 Likes
1 Solution
ShipingW_81
500 replies posted 250 solutions authored 250 replies posted

muna_4652896

From your description, my understanding is you want to receive the parameters from the Client app on ther GATT Server (PSoC) end.

Actually, it largely depends on the method adopted on Client app. There are 2 methods of data from GATT Client to GATT Server - Write Request and Write Command. The GATT Server should handle the wirte request/command properly.