How do I assign a pin to a specific port and number from a component definition?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Len_CONSULTRON
Level 9
Level 9
Beta tester 500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted

Hi,

I realize what I'm trying to do is fairly sophisticated.  I'm hoping someone on the forum has done something similar.

I'm new at creating my own components and have been moderately successful so far.

What I'm trying to do is to create a component with one or more pins.  Based on the "Kit" enum selected by the user during configuration, the pins with be hard assigned to a specific port and number.  For example: Kit=CY8CKIT-059 then Pin_Rx=>Port(12,6) and Pin_Tx=>Port(12,7).   I realize that the user can assign the port and number in the DWR after the component is dropped it on the schematic.  I'm trying to make it more seamless for the user by auto-assigning (or auto-defaulting) the pin port assignments.

The following components appear to do this in their definitions but I've had no luck reverse-engineering how they do it:

• USBUART
  • ADC_SAR
  • ADC_DelSig
  • USBMIDI macro
  • Can Controller Macro

Len

Len
"Engineering is an Art. The Art of Compromise."
0 Likes
1 Solution
Hari
750 replies posted 500 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi LePo_1062026

I believe even these components the pins need to be assigned manually, by specifying them in the DWR. Just dragging and dropping the component does not automatically configure the pins. Can you please explain an example of what you are trying to achieve?

In case of USB, since the D+ and D- are fixed, these pins can be mapped only to those pins.

In any case, since most of the kits have different chips anyway, a ctl file maybe worth a try. But yes, the ctl files do not have a direct kit dependency.

Thanks,
Hari

View solution in original post

0 Likes
3 Replies
Hari

Hi LePo_1062026