Questions about configuring CY8MBR3110

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
GiSp_4591751
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everybody,

I'm new to the capacitive touch world and I'm designing a touch panel that must work in a very noisier environment and I have some questions about properly configuring the CY8MBR3110 chip.

I have already a prototype board with spring sensor (I don't have the cypress demo board) and I'm reading the debug information from the chip. Here some questions:

1. The chip is reading Cp values (for the sensors enabled) that go from 5pF to 7pF. So I decided to put an extra capacitor of 10pF (see figure below). Is that right or I'm doing something wrong for the correct functioning of the chip?pastedImage_5.png
    2. In the document AN64846 (paragraph 3.2.3) there are some consideration about using ESD protection device. I'd like to know if there is also a recommendation on where to put these devices. Is better to put these devices near the sensor pad or near the input chip?
    3. I haven't found any considerations about how to design a spring sensor. There are some tips to follow when designing this type of capacitive sensors (like dimensions, material, compression, ect.)?

Thank you everybody that like to share their experience.

Best Regard,

GS

0 Likes
1 Solution
Hari
750 replies posted 500 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hi GiSp_4591751

->The chip is reading Cp values (for the sensors enabled) that go from 5pF to 7pF. So I decided to put an extra capacitor of 10pF (see figure below). Is that right or I'm doing something wrong for the correct functioning of the chip?

-Yes, this is recommended for designs with Cp lower than 5pF. This will improve the noise immunity by lowering the sensitivity of the sensor.