Two UARTs and two buffer over 8 bytes - one of them not works ok

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
WiWi_4415241
Level 1
Level 1
5 sign-ins Welcome! First question asked

Hi all,

I am new in community and its my first question about PsoC4 - forgive me mistakes . I'm working with CY8C4248LQI-BL583 from Cy8ckit-042-BLE-A kit and i have problem with buffer when i use two separate UARTs.

So in details:

- I have two UART blocks (say UART_1 and UART_2) both are configured with buffer Rx and Tx 128 bytes.

- UART_1 baud is 115200;

- UART_2 baud is 460400 (used external clock generated by cy_clock)

- UART_1 nad UART_2 buffers are read in program without interrupt (main function)

- from UART_1 and UART_2 i want read data from buffer;

- UART_1 works ok (received data are stored in circular buffer up to 128 bytes)

- UART_2 not work ok (received data are stored in circular buffer up to 8 bytes - should be 128 as configured)

Now my question is that why second UART is not working ok like UART_1 ? Should i configure something special for it when i need to use two separate circular buffer ? or it's bug in Creator ?

I have no idea how resolve problem (of coursce i can try write own circular buffer for both UARTs i think,  but why Creator works only with one UART)

With best regards

Wiktor

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Hari
750 replies posted 500 replies posted 250 solutions authored

Hello WiWi_4415241

I have attached a similar project with 2 uarts. This was found to be working at my end. Please try this and let us know the result.

Thanks and regardsHarigovind

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
NoriTan
Employee
Employee
25 sign-ins 5 questions asked 10 sign-ins

I don't know if this is a root cause.

You said the UART_2 uses an external clock generated by a cy_clock component.

What is the frequency of the external clock?