step by step procedure to program CY68013A device as Slave FIFO FPGA as Master

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
PaKu_3818476
Level 1
Level 1
First like given

hello, I need to get data from FPGA (vetex -5 , XC5VLX110) to PC.  I am Using Keil for creating .hex file . I want to know how to program CY68013A and How to get data from FPGA ...I am new to this process. Initially I tried using USB control center programming RAM but i am getting all Zeros as output, I am not sure whether that is working proprerly or not .. So I want step by step procedure of programming CY68013A and getting the data from FPGA to PC. if possible explain how to get data from FPGA using Bulkloop_VCS application...

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hello Pavan,

As i mentioned in the previous reply .iic file for a program can be obtained by following the procedure in EZ-USB Development Kit User Guide : Section 5.8 which uses hex2bix.exe to convert the hex file produced by the Keil IDE to .iic file during the build.

You can find the hex2bix.exe in bulkloop firmware examples. Copy the exe from bulkloop firmware example to the file which contains your keil project and follow the steps mentioned in Section 5.8.

After this, once you build your keil project the .iic file (and the .hex) is created in the same file which contains your project.

You can use this .iic file to program the EEPROM which is attached to the I2C lines of FX2LP.

Make sure that the EEPROM has sufficient space to hold the device firmware.

If you do not program the EEPROM and just program the RAM, then on reset of the device (or power off) the program contents in the RAM is lost and the RAM has to be reprogrammed.

If the EEPROM is programmed with the required firmware (program) then on every reset (or power off and on) the firmware is loaded to RAM from the EEPROM, this way you need not program the firmware repeatedly on every reset.