How can I assign a custom default ISR in PSoC Creator?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
EnSi_1099366
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am new with PSoC.

I need to put code into a default ISR for a PSoC-5LP.
I did not find the macro to reassign it properly (or the related documentation), because all the ISR used are in the GUI, and therefore an API is generated. But what about the default vector? Can I manipulate the link of the interrupt manually? Is it safe given the interactions with PSoC Creator? If so, how can I do it?

I believe it is a silly questions, but I miss whereto look for this info.

Thank you,

0 Likes
1 Solution

I actually discovered that Cypress support what I needed to do, without interfering with the autogeneration of the code.

I just needed to define CY_BOOT_INT_DEFAULT_HANDLER_EXCEPTION_ENTRY_CALLBACK in cyapicallbacks.h and using the CyBoot_IntDefaultHandler_Exception_EntryCallback() containing my default code in my own application code, so I get exactly what I want: a call to my default ISR when something unexpected happens.
By default is also added a while(1) but I can do something before a wrong ISR triggers, which is what I needed to do.

So, I guess they thought the same as other MCU vendors, which makes perfectly sense: an unexpected ISR must be handled, at least with an infinite loop.

Thanks in any case!

View solution in original post

0 Likes
8 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Of course you may change an interrupt vector for your own needs. Have a look into the "System Reference Guide" for your PSoC 4 or 5. There are several APIs to access the ICU.

Bob

0 Likes
EnSi_1099366
Level 1
Level 1

The only thing that I see in the System Reference Guide related to this is the:

cyisraddress CyIntSetVector(uint8 number, cyisraddress address)