CapSense Level Sensing with PSoC 4

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
user_4082536
Level 1
Level 1
First like received

Hello,

I’m a student in Geneva, I recently acquired CY8CKIT-022 CapSense Liquid Level Sensing Shield and CY8CKIT-042 PSoC 4 Pioneer Kit to work with.

I have some questions:

• It is possible to adapt this concept to sense the level of solid materials (essentially copper)?
  • If I want to sense a 1mm change, can I do the measure with the 12 Sensor Flex? With the code example the value only changes every half sensor covered, what precision can I reach with each sensor? Or the only solution is to make my own PCB with a bigger number of sensors?
  • I’ve read the documentation but have some difficulties to understand how works the current to digital converter in the capsense CSD method. When I measure directly on the sensors it looks like a normal output of the sigma-delta converter, but then how does it sense the current from each sensor? I was expecting to see the periodic charge and discharge of the sensor capacitor, I’m a bit confused with this part of the method.

Best regards

Oscar Feijo Aste

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi oscar.feijo-aste_4082536​,

You observe this waveform since you have used PRS (Pseudo Random Sequence) as the clock source for sense clock aka Analog switch drive source. Instead of having a fixed frequency and hence high energy in particular frequency in the frequency spectrum, the PRS varies the frequency of the sense clock and makes sure the energy is distributed in the frequency spectrum. We usually recommend PRS signal for reducing emissions in a particular frequency. So the waveform has varying charge and discharge cycles due to varying sense clock frequency.