I am having trouble with SWD protocol using 5-pin connector on MiniProg3. Please help.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
bhvfc_4216081
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cypress microcontrollers and I installed PSoC programmer. I have a custom board with CY8C4125LQI-483 micro on it and  I am trying to program it  using the 5 pin connector on MiniProg3. The pins on the micro are:

P3[2] for SWD Data

P3[3] for SWD Clk

pin30  for XRES

It says in documentation that the pin assignments on MiniProg3 for SWD protocol are:

SDIO for pin5

SCK for pin4

XRES for pin3

I am totally confused how to connect the 5-pin connector to the micro. So do I connect SDIO to SWD Data and 3.3V external power? Which pin on the 5-pin MiniProg should I use for the GND?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi,

1. What connector is selected in PSoC Programmer 5 or 10 pin? Is it the same you are using to connect your board?

pastedImage_0.png

2. Probably also try a slower clock speed.

3. Do you have a schematic of your board, probably there is an issue with that.

regards,

Achim

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
LinglingG_46
500 solutions authored 1000 replies posted 10 questions asked

MinProg3 screenshot:

minprog3.PNG

CY8C4125LQI-483 40QFN

P3[2]<--->SDAT

P3[3]<--->SCLK

XRES<--->XRES

VDD<---> VDDD

GND<---> VSSA

0 Likes

Thank you so much for explaining the pin config. I will try it now.

0 Likes

I have connected all the pins as you said. Then, I tried to program the board and it says:

Program Finished at ...                               |

| FAILED! PSoC device is not acquired! Check connection of the chip to the programmer

| Please, check the following items:

|  - the connection between the programmer and the PSoC;

|  - the correct programming protocol is selected;

|  - the correct connector option is selected.