OTA2 Failsafe app not starting

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MaLa_3768146
Level 2
Level 2
First like received

Hi,

I'm quite new to the Wiced Studio environment, so I hope I'm not forgetting something.

I have a CYW943907AEVAL1F Kit and I'm testing the OTA2 features. Here is what a tried:

1 - Build and download the manufacturing image with the "ota2_manuf_download" makefile target. I understand that this image should contain everything needed for the OTA2 update.

2 - Modified a constant in the app so that I could see the difference between the "factory" firmware and the "updated" one (the constant is printed to the console).

3 - I used the "ota2_download" makefile target to build the image and download it to the staging area

4 - Reboot the board and check that the "old" firmware is still running.

At this point I press button1 of the board. In the firmware, the button is programmed to do the following:

wiced_log_msg(WLF_DEF, WICED_LOG_INFO, "Setting OTA2 header to EXTRACT_ON_NEXT_BOOT");

wiced_ota2_image_fakery(WICED_OTA2_IMAGE_EXTRACT_ON_NEXT_BOOT);

So basically when I press the button, I use the fakery function to "fake" a successful download of the new firmare image, which I previously saved in the flash.

Now, if I simply reboot the board, everything works as expected: the OTA2 extraction app runs, extracts the new firmware and runs it after rebooting.

The problem is that if I reset the board *during* the extraction, the Failsafe app never runs. I enabled the printf macros in ota2_bootloader.c and slightly edited it to print more info. In particular, I added 2 printf in this part (line ~209 of ota2_bootloader.c):

/* Check boot_type FAILSAFE - if so, use ota2_failsafe to recover */

BOOTLOADER_PRINTF(("Bootloader: boot_type = %d!\r\n", dct_ota2_config.boot_type));

if ((dct_ota2_config.boot_type == OTA2_BOOT_FAILSAFE_FACTORY_RESET) ||