Buffer multiple ADC channel results using DMA?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
KyTr_1955226
Level 6
Level 6
250 sign-ins 10 likes given 50 solutions authored

Hi all,

I've got some questions regarding a specific ADC+DMA setup I'd like to accomplish, but I'm not sure how to make it happen (I'm rather new to using DMA).

I'd like to, through DMA, have the SAR ADC cycle between 3 channels and maintain 3 separate ADC results buffers.  The idea being that I could at any time read the last 8 (or really any arbitrary number) readings for any of the inputs and quickly generate an average.

My schematic looks like this:

pastedImage_0.png

The idea is that the PWM module provides a short (about 1.2ms) pulse from the PWM module.  The rising edge starts the ADC Conversion, the EOC signal triggers the DMA to transfer the reading to SRAM, and the interrupt on the falling edge of the PWM increments the mux(es).

The PWM Period is 40ms, so there should be more than enough time to switch the analog mux for the next reading (I plan on tightening this time up once I get the general system working the way I want).  The Timer and UART are just for serial reporting.  I've confirmed the EOC signal is coming out of the ADC well before the falling edge of my PWM.

What's getting me stuck is configuring the DMA to properly increment the destination address and reset to the first address after 8 DMA transactions.  My idea was to count the number of transfers in their respective ISRs and reset the DMA when it reaches the end of it's respective buffer.  I.E.

void DMA0_Reset(void){

ADC_CH0_DMA_DmaRelease();

DMA_Ch0_Init();

}

void ISR_DMA0_DONE_Interrupt_InterruptCallback(void){

static uint8_t count = 0;

ISR_DMA0_DONE_ClearPending();

/*DMA is done transferring reading to SRAM*/

if (count++ >= ADC_BUFF_SIZE-1){