USB Serial - Fast response (algorithm idea)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of embedded (some Arduino experience) and I've scratch my head on a problem for several weeks without any improvements. I also have more experience in the world of FPGA (and maybe my ideas are not ideal for embedded due to that, I always try to do everything in parallel) . I'm coming to you in the hope you could help me.

I'm using a PSOC (FreeSoC2 Development Board - PSoC5LP - DEV-13714 - SparkFun Electronics ) which update a lot a values from different ADC and other modules (via software serial). Updating all the values takes ~500ms. I also have a GUI program in python to show the status of the different modules and to do some basic control. I'm updating the values for monitoring by sending a command via USBUART and waiting for the response.

Right now, the algorithm looks like that (pseudo-code)

-------------------------------------

while(1)

{

if (0u != USBUART_DataIsReady())

{

/* Read received data and re-enable OUT endpoint. */

count = USBUART_GetAll(buffer);

if (0u != count)

{

-> parse data and send the information to the PC (example, if I send 'rt1\r\n', send back the temperature of the 1st device)

}

}

if (flag_timer_interrupt) //interrupt each 1.5sec

{

update_all_values(); // this command takes ~500ms

flag_timer_interrupt = 0;

}

}

-------------------------------------

I'm looking for a way to have the PSOC respond "immediately" to the computer because you can imagine the delay if I ask for data while it's updating the values.

I've tough about parsing and sending the data in an interrupt, but I also read it was not recommended. I also had an idea to an algorithm like that but it doesn't look efficient/beautiful in my opinion:

while(1)

{

update_one_value();

check_and_parse_usb();

}