Voltage Multiplication

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
CaDu_3933941
Level 4
Level 4
50 replies posted 25 replies posted 10 replies posted

Hi all,

For my senior capstone, my task is to design a feedback system for a DC-AC converter. My plan is implement a controller onto the PSoC 5LP. Right now, I am messing around to try to understand how multiplication works in code. I am generating a wave using the WaveDAC component in the top design. I am attempting to multiply the signal in order to change the amplitude of the sine wave based on the number I am multiplying it by, however, I am getting some pretty funky looking signals at the output. I am new to C programming so is there anything I may be doing wrong? below you can see part of the code I am using to multiply as well as the top design.

Thank you,

int main(void)

{

CyGlobalIntEnable;

double Vcontrol;

int Out;

double Peak_In;

double Mult;

WaveDAC8_1_Start();

WaveDAC8_2_Start();

VDAC8_1_Start();

VDAC8_2_Start();

ADC_SAR_0_Start();

ADC_SAR_1_Start();

Comp_1_Start();

Clock_1_Start();

ADC_SAR_0_StartConvert();

ADC_SAR_1_StartConvert();

for(;;)

{

Peak_In = ADC_SAR_1_GetResult8();;

Vcontrol = ADC_SAR_0_GetResult8() ;

Mult = Vcontrol*Peak_In;

Out = Mult;

VDAC8_1_SetValue(Out);

}

}

pastedImage_2.png

0 Likes
1 Solution

molinac5,

This approach implements entire PWM control shown on your Simulink bottom page using PSoC specific hardware. You still have to come up with RMS measurement and PID feedback code.

In this demo PWM output is updated 32 times per period, providing hardware signal "tc", which can be used to strobe ADC_SAR 32 times per period and calculate RMS, and another output "nrq" and interrupt, signaling the end of period, when amplitude of the Sine wave can be updated using PID algorithm.