BCM2073XS Boot Sequence: Can't download to board (device not found)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi all,

I've been working my way through the examples for the BCM20736S and after I flashed the pwm_tones example I'm now unable to flash anything else as the IDE cant find the device and pressing reset doesn't seem to put the device into programming mode at all

any help would be appriciated

Cheers

0 Likes
1 Solution
Anonymous
Not applicable

After going through a number of posts from the forum over the weekend I was able to find a procedure to recover the module posted here Re: Unable to (re) program BCM20736  I think some of the documentation provided should've had this process to account for any users that weren't using the tag specifically

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
MichaelF_56
250 sign-ins 25 comments on blog 10 comments on blog

Are you using the TAG3 Development kit, or is this on a custom module built using our 2073XS device?

On either, have you tried the Recovery Process defined in the WICED Smart Quick Start Guide (SDK 2.x and TAG3 Board)? If so, what happens?

If a custom board, which exact FTDI cable are you using between the PC and the board for programming? How is the HCI_UART RX line being handled on the custom board? Have you ever been able to reprogram the custom board, or, once programmed for the first time, it was no longer able to be programmed?

The part is behaving as if the HCI_UART RX is not asserted, so it just continues to load the PWM Tones program that you successfully loaded initially.

From RESET, the boot sequence for the BCM2073XS series essentially follows the process defined below:

Code in ROM executes and initializes the device processor, clock domains, peripherals, etc. 

The following checks then occur:

2a.
Boot ROM checks EEPROM for a valid configuration
And if not found