Newbie Q: Is the Basic_Counter available for PSoC 6?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello,

I am very new to the Cypress PSoC system, and recently started playing with the PSoC 6 BLE dev kit. I see that the set of digital components available for PSoC 6 in the IDE is missing some common ones I see in other PSoC designs - like  Basic_Counter, for example. Is it possible to import these type of components to PSoC 6, or do we need to create them? I'd appreciate any suggestions on how to make use of existing components.

Thanks

Mahesh

1 Solution
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.

I agree Mahesh, we are working on enabling the components in PSoC 6 soon.

Yes, you can use the verilog code but even easier way is to simply import the UDB component to your project and enable it for PSoC 6. This process of enabling the component would vary between components but for the basic counter it is very simple. Anyway I have enabled the component in the attached project for your testing - you can now import this component to your projects (Through "components" tab in the workspace explorer - right-click > import component > import from project/library > select the attached project and then select BasicCounter).

Let me know if this helps or if you need more guidance with this porting. To quickly summarize what I did for this project -

1. Imported the BasicCounter component through the above method but from "CyComponentLibrary" instead of my project. This component is present for P3/4/5 devices but not for P6.

2. To make sure the component is visible for P6, open the ".cysym" file > right-click in the empty area of the canvas that opens > properties > Doc.CatalogVisibilityExpression > change the value to "(GetFeatureParameter("m0s8udbif", "NUMUDB") > 0) || (GetFeatureParameter("mxudb", "NUMUDB") > 0) || (GetFeatureCount("S8_UDB") > 0)"