Hey I am completely new to this. I bought a PSoC creator 5lp but there is no USB that comes with it. Does anyone know where I can get the USB so I can get started on programming it?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey I am completely new to this. I bought a PSoC creator 5lp but there is no USB that comes with it. Does anyone know where I can get the USB so I can get started on programming it?

0 Likes
1 Solution

"Can I program with the micro USB cable side? It has tape over it so I wasn't sure if I should touch that side."

That's the side that actually runs.  If you want to make something that connects by USB, that's the side you generally need to use.

The tape is just for protection.

There are two main ways to program a chip - with an external programmer, or self-programming.  The external programmer is generally easier, as you can break the firmware for your chip and not have any problems.  That's why the little board is on there - it's an external programmer for the target.

It is possible to use a chip to program itself, but you generally have to use what's called a bootloader.  These are more commonly done when you actually ship a product, as you don't want to include the cost to add a programmer to each device, and you want to be able to update.

PSoC creator marks the bootloader memory as read-only, so it doesn't get corrupted.  When the bootloader runs, it can wait for commands, and update the running program.

This would let you program the target (micro USB) side by Micro USB, but would require you to first make an app that had the Bootloader component on it.  Otherwise, the chip has no way to listen for commands, and has to be programmed by the programmer (small) side.

I would strongly suggest reading the appropriate guide for your prototyping kit, and looking through the examples.  If you have a CY8CKIT-059, this is probably what you want: