basics on capsense (hardware)

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

I'm brand new with the PSoC and even unsure how to use this community or where I could ask simple questions for beginners like the following one...:-(

I thought a capsense could be used like a simple switch with the PSoC4 MCU. Why do I only find capsense products with integrated controlers? Didn't the PSoC4 controle everything about the (hardware) capsens?

(And where can I buy the simple (capsense-) sensor to connect it to my CYCKit-042-BLE pioneer borad ?)

Thank you very much!

0 Likes
1 Solution
PriyadeepK_01
Employee
Employee
10 likes received First like received

Hi Jens,

Welcome to the community.

CapSense is basically a touch sensing technology by Cypress using which you can sense touch/proximity on an external sensor. The sensor here can be any conductive material, like a copper pad/pattern on an FR4 or flex PCB, an ITO on glass, a silver ink, or it could even be a spring or any other conductive object, though PCB patterns are most often used.

If you are new to CapSense and don't want to juggle with writing a firmware or an integrated controller, I would recommend you get started with a CY3280-MBR3 kit. This uses an I2C configurable CY8CMBR3xxx device that can be configured using an Ez-click software.

-Priya

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
BrandonP_16
Employee
Employee
5 sign-ins First question asked 10 solutions authored

Hi Jens,

Actually, CapSense can not be used like simple switch such as using GPIO contorol.

CapSense must be implemented with CapSense block in PSoC and its algorithm. So Cypress kit for CapSense is made not only sensor but also PSoC.

I suggest you to choose following,

1. Using CY8CKIT-145 kit. It is cheapest kit for CapSense and can be support Self-cap and Mutual-cap method.

or