Initial Drive State vs. Drive Mode for Resistive Pull Up/Pull Down

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi all, I'm new to the cypress community--so my apologies if this is posted in the wrong place.

I'm making a simple project in my BLE Pioneer Kit where an LED changes color when you press SW2. I have configured SW2 as an input and two LEDs as outputs. I am using the following code to determine when the button is pressed:

int push_flag = 0;

for(;;)

{

while (Cy_GPIO_Read(PUSH_PORT, PUSH_NUM) == 1) { // If you push the button

push_flag = 1;

}

//Code continues

}

What I'm confused about is, regardless of whether or not my input is configured as a Resistive Pull Up or a Resistive Pull Down and regardless of whether or not I put a "0" or a "1" in the while loop comparison, my code works the same so long as the Initial Drive State of the pin is a 1.

In other words, any combination of drive mode and while loop comparison is successful (4 possible combinations) so long as the Initial Drive State is 1.

Clearly, I'm not understanding something about what initial drive state means, so any suggestions are much appreciated!

0 Likes
1 Solution

Yes the pictures on that website are correct.

Here is a screenshot of that section of the schematic... (notice that R145, R148 and R149 are NO LOAD ... meaning that they are not on the board)... so basically the switch is connected to P04 on one side... and shorted to ground through a 0 ohm resistor on the other.

Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 6.53.33 AM.png

As to the initial drive state... as the pin is an INPUT the initial drive state doesnt do anything.. that value is only when the GPIO is configured as an output (or an input/output)

View solution in original post

0 Likes
4 Replies
AlanH_86
Employee
Employee
100 replies posted 50 replies posted 25 solutions authored