Class D adcDelSig>Filter>Pwm using DMA only

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, this is my first project and am having a bit of a struggle getting this to work. Basically the adc is differential with an audio input sampled at 192Ksps>Filter for Low Pass.

The problem occurs trying to get the Filter value out of the DMA to the Pwm compare1 register.

I am attaching the project bundle.

Any help or pointers would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in Advance

Al

0 Likes
1 Solution
lock attach

I modified T. Dust demo to include 2s-compliment to binary offset conversion using Control register.  Project uses hardware input PWM (using custom component made by JLS1), but can be further modified to use DMA transfer. I think this is enough to start with.

ADC-Filter-VDAC_01s_01.png

ADC-Filter-VDAC_01s_PWM_01.png

PWM_Cap 0.1uF.jpg

PWM ouptut w/o and with external 0.1uF bypass capacitor (too big?).

P.S. Project updated (PWM pin is relocated and set to resistive pull up/down).

View solution in original post

10 Replies
odissey1
Level 9
Level 9
First comment on KBA 1000 replies posted 750 replies posted

The Filter output is a signed value, but PWM can take positive only, that is the problem. You need to add offset to change output from 2's compliment to binary offset (+128 for 8-bit). Easyest way is to do it without DMA, but use isr on filter output ready and do it In code.

To accomplish same using DMA try using intermediate buffer constructed of control and status registers, using the idea brought by the 'pavloven', see attached image. So in your case it will look like Filter->DMA->ControlReg->StatusReg->PWM.

2 ADC >> 2 DMA >> Filter >> 2 DAC

DAC (1).JPG

Anonymous
Not applicable