Interfacing EEPROM

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi! I'm a newbie to the world of PSoC and amazing electronics. Im doing a fairly complicated project using PSoC, however I notice that a simple application like blinking an LED consumes a fairly large percentage of the memory. Can anyone please help me on how to interface an external EEPROM and which EEPROM is compatible with PSoC so that I can buy the right components.

My project has a complex algorithm, so a large C code and I'll also need to store a vast amount of data. Please help! 

0 Likes
10 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

PS : I'm using PSoC 4 Pioneer kit.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

1. PSoC4 only has max. 32k flash and 4k RAM, not a lot. Are you sure you it is enough for your project?

2. What kinds of EEPROM you want to interface, there are normal byte wide and serial versions as well.

3. You can post your requirment here so we can help you to see if the chip is good enough for your project.

0 Likes
HeLi_263931
Level 8
Level 8
100 solutions authored 50 solutions authored 25 solutions authored

Basically you can connect any EEPROM which uses a serial interface (SPI or I2C). Which one to choose depends whether one of these interfaces is already occupied in your solution. Apart from that, choose whatever fits your needs.

What is 'a vast amount of data'? Could it be that a PSoC4 is not the right tool for your problem, and maybe a PSoC5 would be more suited?

You should think about moving parts of your algorithm into the PSoC hardware (UDBs) - this makes it faster and consumes less CPU resources.

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

If you describe the basic application the forum can potentialy guide you to

the right family.

Your blink LED project, was it FLASH or SRAM consumed you feel was excessive ?