Sonic screw driver buzzing sound.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

So i'm trying to use my FreeSoC mini to make a sonic screw driver. I'm a long time programmer, but this is my first time playing around with hardware. I've so far managed to get my device to be programmed, and run a little blue LED that turns on and off when I press a button. So I've not pressed on to making a buzzing sound. I've got a little TDK piezo speaker to make the sound. tested it by connecting my desktop's sound out to it. (3.5m to rca to bare wires. ^_^ ) so the speaker works. I wired it up with a WaveDAC on the PSoC, made sure the WaveDAC was started, got the pins right so far I can tell, But i'm not getting any sound.

The Pin is an anolog out over an OP Amp, strong drive. With the WaveDAC i'm just using a simple wave form at 1khz, a little above A5 on the piano. I've tried it's range selection at every choice I can that makes half a lick of sense (if 2ma doesn't work, why would 32ua?) Is it just to quiet? Do i need to make an amplifier outside the PSoC to get more power to the speaker? I have held my ear right up against the speark and haven't heard a thing. I was read to believe it was quiet and I would need an amp, but this is so quite I have a hard time believing I did it right.

0 Likes
12 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

To give you a bit more help it is advisable to post the complete project here. So we all can have a look at your settings and at your code. To do so: In Creator 3 File -> Create Workspace Bundle (minimal) and the attach the resulting file (DO NOT USE CHROME!!! That will not work, use ie).

Bob

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

In order to up the swing across the Piezo wire it between 2 pins,