Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just a quick question.

I am using one of the new CY8CKIT-042 PSoC4 Pioneer Kits. 

There are some things that I am not able to get working on it (like a simple 16x2 LCD display), even though I have tried everything that I know to try.

I am no expert using Creator (3.0), or the PSoC, or the 'kit', but I am really reaching the end of things to try.

As a last resort, I got out my magnifier and read the Part Number on the PSoC4 chip. It is...

CY8C4245AXI-483ES

My question... What does the 'ES' stand for?

If it is what I think it means, then I am using an 'Engineering Sample' part on this board. (Or trying to use one.)

Can someone shed some light on this? If it _is_ an Engineering Sample (and I have purchased two (2) Pioneer Kits - both have 'ES' parts on them), then this may explain why I am having difficulties.

Thanks.

James

0 Likes
64 Replies
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

The code for what I am using is already posted - the 10th post from the top. The schematic for the LCD is taken straight from the LCD Display datasheet - but I am posting it here as a JPEG.

I am using 3.3-volts for the Display - where it says 5.0-volts in the screenshot.

Perhaps I should be asking folks that are getting the LCD display to work to post schematics and code.

Keep in mind that I am using the Cypress PSoC CY8CKIT-042. If folks are using a different breadboard or have the PSoC4 in another circuit, that is a different configuration, and may be a reason for different results. We need to compare apples to apples.

Also - post the complete part number stamped on the PSoC4 processor chip itself. The whole reason that I started this was that I have doubts about the 'ES' - aka Engineering Sample chip, and for all I know, it may not even have Port 2 hooked up.

Regards,

James Jackson

Oztronics