Generate more than 4 PWM outputs from PSoC 4 dev kits

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I am just beginning to use PSoC 4. I would like to have 6 PWM outputs or more from CY8CKIT-042 PSoC 4 Pioneer Kit. When I try to use 6 TCPWM blocks together with 2 interrupts (overflow and compare events) for each block to toggle logic levels on 6 digital outputs, I get error that only max of 4 TCPWM blocks are allowed. I also tried the UDB based PWM blocks, but got errors like only max of 4 datapaths were allowed. Is there an alternative solution without resorting to pure bit-banging? Thanks. 

0 Likes
6 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the forum, Diode!

You can use the 4 TCPWMs and 2 UDB-based PWMs with 16 bit width. When in need, you can use the two-outputs-mode of the latter giving you 8 PWMs in total or saves you 2 TCPWMs for other uses.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks Bob. Your advice works.

I also have a different question on the interrupt handling of PSoC 4. When using 4 TCPWM blocks with the same clock source and 8 interrupt handlers (4 for overflow, 4 for compare), I find they work without glitches when all compare counts are set to the same, meaning 4 interrupts can occur at the same time. From this post, ARM Cortex M only has 1 bit for pending status per interrupt source. Does that mean those 4 TCPWM blocks interrupts are actually registered as different sources? Or am I missing something?  Thanks. 

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

The only key drawback of the dual mode PWM use is the component shares

a common clock, the Tc output and its interrupt shared, otherwise functions as

two independent PWMs.

Regards, Dana.

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9